As we are an all-through School, this content is now available on John Lyon School's website. You are now being redirected.


Quainton Hall School Committee

Committee of the John Lyon School Governing Body

Mr Neil Enright, MA (Oxon) MBA NPQH FRSA (OL) – Chairman of Quainton Hall School Committee

Neil Enright is Headmaster of Queen Elizabeth’s School in Barnet, which has consistently been named in the national press in recent years as the country’s top grammar school for A-Level and GCSE results. He attended John Lyon as a pupil from 1989 to 1996. Neil has been a Governor of John Lyon since 2016.

Mr Andrew Smith, BA DipRAM ARAM, LRAM, Vice Chairman

Andrew was a cathedral chorister at Canterbury and subsequently won a music scholarship to Eton College. After gaining a First in Mathematics and Accounting he studied piano accompaniment at the Royal Academy of Music. He has since worked as a freelance musician at Glyndebourne, collaborating with conductors such as Vladimir Jurowski, Sir Charles Mackerras and Sir Mark Elder, and performed regularly with the LPO and the OAE. His recital career has taken him to America, Canada, Panama, Argentina and many venues across the UK and Europe. Since 2015 he has worked as a pianist and harpsichordist for Garsington Opera’s Summer Festival and has been a full time member of the music staff at English National Opera since 2008. He is currently a vocal consultant at the RAM and his son is an Old Lyonian.

Mrs Michelle Beresford-Smart

Michelle is a full time mother whose three sons all attended John Lyon.  She has also been a member of The John Lyon School PFA since 2014. Michelle has always been an active volunteer in school life managing the uniform shop at Quainton Hall whilst also organising and supporting numerous fundraising activities.

Mr Giles Goodfellow, KC MA LLM

Giles is Chairman of The John Lyon School Board of Governors and also a Foundation Governor. An Old Harrovian and former Harrow parent, he studied law at Cambridge University and Virginia Law School and worked as an attorney in Washington DC before returning to the English Bar where he specialises in tax law, particularly its contentious aspects. He has a keen interest in professional training and recruitment.

Professor John Greenwood, PhD FRCPath

John holds the Davson Chair of Biomedical Research at University College London, Institute of Ophthalmology. Over a 40-year career in research he has been awarded many prestigious grants, has published in major scientific journals including Nature and the Lancet, and served as head of department. He runs a large and active research group studying eye and brain diseases and cancer and has launched a related biotech company. John is an Old Lyonian from the class of 1974 and was appointed a Governor of John Lyon in 2020.


Mrs Joanne Owens

Joanne Owens is a partner at the law firm Eversheds Sutherland. She specialises in consumer credit, mortgage and payments regulation. She has worked as a solicitor in this area for over twenty years.  Joanne is married to a teacher and housemaster at Harrow School. She has two sons, who studied at Quainton Hall before moving to Harrow School. Joanne is a member of the Quainton Hall Committee of governance.

Mrs Sarah Hollis

Sarah Hollis has recently retired as the Head Teacher of Buckingham Preparatory school in Pinner, following on from her long career in teaching and management of Preparatory and Pre Preparatory schools. Sarah holds Trusteeships and other positions in children’s charities and establishments and is passionate about helping both academically able and special needs children.

Mr David Tidmarsh, BSC (Hons) PGCE

David Tidmarsh was most recently Headmaster of St Martin’s School, Northwood for 16 years before becoming an Educational Consultant. A long career in education has seen him in key roles at Forest School before becoming Head of Reigate St Mary’s, during which time he oversaw a move to coeducation and union with Reigate Grammar senior school. David has been a John Lyon Governor since 2014.

Other attendees at Governors’ meetings:

  • Mrs Rose Hardy, Head, John Lyon School
  • Mrs Sonal Chatrath, Head of Prep, John Lyon School
  • Mr Gareth Mawdsley, Chief Operating Officer
  • Mrs Tania Dovey, Director of Finance and Systems
  • Mrs Jovana Ivanovic, Finance Manager
  • The Hon Andrew Millett, Clerk